The Dealer Licensing Kit has been complied by the staff of PMHA to assist persons interested in becoming a Manufactured Housing Retailer (Dealer) in Pennsylvania. The process is quite extensive, below are the steps that are required and the necessary paperwork. If you have any questions during the process, please contact Toni by email or at (888) 242-7642.
Chapter 19. State Board of Vehicle Manufacturer's Dealers and Sales Persons can be viewed here.
Board of Vehicle Act - most current version with all amendments can be viewed here.
Certificate of Occupancy
Obtaining a Certificate of Occupancy for your "new" sales office. As a licensed manufactured home dealer, you are required to have a sales office. An additional 5,000 square foot display area is required if you are selling new manufactured homes. The Department of State requires that the building being used as your sales office have a Certificate of Occupancy, this certificate will be issued by either the Department of Labor and Industry (L&I) or your local township or municipality. Determine if your township/municipality opted "in" or "out" of the UCC by clicking here.
For townships/municipalities that "opted in" the UCC - contact your local authorities for their procedure with regards to obtaining a Certificate of Occupancy for your sales office.
If the township/municipality "opted out" of the UCC - you will need to contact L&I and follow their process. Click here for Plan Review and Inspection Requirements.
PMHA Members may mail their plans to PMHA's office and a staff member will hand-deliver the plans directly to the L&I building in Harrisburg. Final approval will be sent directly to the member by L&I.
Any questions regarding the specifics of your building and/or its construction should be directed to the inspectors at L&I, you may contact them at (717) 787-3806.
Obtaining a Certificate of Occupancy for an "established" sales office. If the location being used for a sales office was at one time a licensed vehicle dealership then there should be a Certificate of Occupancy on file with L&I.
Assuming no changes have been made to the previously approved building and no change has been made in the approved use of the building, L&I will issue duplicates or revisions of these previously issued permits/certificates.
To obtain a duplicate or revised permit/cerficate, one copy of Labor & Industry's Form UCC-27 must be submitted (click here for a copy of the form), along with the appropriate payment of $5.00 (check or money order made payable to Commonwealth of Pennsylvania).
You will need to supply the L&I File or MA Numbers assigned to the building, if you do not have these numbers, call 717-787-3806 or fax a request for this information to 717-783-5002. The request should indicate the building name and address; and the county and political subdivision in which it is located.
Once you have received your Certificate of Occupancy continue with the next step.
Department of State
Requests for Criminal History Record Check - form is available here. A Criminal History Record is required for each owner, partner, officer, director and all sales persons. NOTE: Criminal History Record Checks are only valid for 90 days.
Proof of Proper Zoning - request documentation from township/municipality verifying that your business location has proper zoning to sell manufactured homes. If the township/municipality does not have a zoning ordinance, a letter must be provided stating that the location is properly zoned.
Franchise Agreement (2 copies) is required if you are selling new manufactured homes. View a sample agreement here.
Complete all necessary licensing applications and collect all required supporting documentation, as stated on the application. Applications can be obtained directly from the Department of State's website. Click here for any or all of the following applications.
- Vehicle Dealership License Change Application (60-SPOA-2602E) - application is used to obtain licensing for an existing dealership that has a change in ownership, physical/mailing address, office location, and business name/structure.
MV-349 Application for Vehicle Dealer Registration Plates... - a completed MV-349 needs to be submitted with the licensing application. This form is required for PennDOT to issue the Dealer Identification Number (DIN). The DIN is required, to file title paperwork with PennDOT. Click here for the MV-349.
A checklist to assist you in collecting and compiling all necessary documentation for your Manufactured Home Dealer License application before filing it with the Department of State is available here.
Department of Banking
As a Manufactured Housing Retailer or Community Owner you will need to determine how you will handle consumer financing. Depending on your decision, additional licensing with the Department of Banking may be required.
No Involvement - if you will not be helping your customers obtain financing for the purchase of a manufactured/modular home and/or you are not signing on as “seller” to a 3-party installment sales contract; you are not required to be licensed with the Department of Banking.
Assist Consumer - if you plan to assist consumers (taking a credit application and forwarding the application to lending sources) in finding a loan to purchase a manufactured/modular home that will go into a land leased community; you are required to hold an Installment Sellers License, Partially Exempt Mortgage Company Registration* and a Mortgage Loan Originator's License* (for each employee helping customers with financing) through the PA Department of Banking.
If you plan to assist consumers in finding a loan to purchase a manufactured/modular home that will go onto private property by taking a credit application and contacting banks for financing on behalf of the consumer, you are required to hold an Installments Sellers License, a Mortgage Broker License* and a Mortgage Loan Originator's License* (for each employee helping customers with financing) through the PA Department of Banking.
Provide Financing - if you plan to offer financing on homes located in land leased communities for consumers (known as "buy here pay here") in addition to assisting consumers in finding a loan; you are required to hold a Installment Seller's License, Partially Exempt Mortgage Company Registration* and a Mortgage Loan Originator's License* (for each employee helping customers with financing) through the PA Department of Banking.
If you plan to offer construction lending on homes in addition to assisting consumers in finding a loan; you are required to hold an Installment Seller's License, a Mortgage Lenders License* and a Mortgage Loan Originator's License* (for each employee helping customers with financing) through the PA Department of Banking.
*The application for the Partially Exempt Mortgage Company Registration, Mortgage Brokers License, Mortgage Lenders License and the Mortgage Loan Originators License is obtained through the national NMLS website – click here
Licensing under Motor Vehicle Sales Finance Act of 2013
Sales Finance License application available here.
A sales finance company license is required by any person or company who engages in the business of financing or soliciting the financing of installment sale contracts made between other parties, including but not thereby limiting the generality of the foregoing, the business of acquiring, investing in or lending money or credit on the security of such contracts or any interest therein, whether by discount, purchase or assignment thereof, or otherwise.
Installment Seller's License application available here.
An installment seller license is required by any person or company who engages in the business of selling, hiring, or leasing motor vehicles/manufactured homes under installment sale contracts or any legal successor in interest to such person. This includes any person or company who has a "buy here pay here" program.
Licensing under Mortgage Licensing Act
Mortgage Lender/Broker & Loan Originator License
The Department of Banking requires all mortgage business applicants and licensees to use the NMLS to obtain and manage their Pennsylvania mortgage licenses. The Mortgage Licensing Act applies to manufactured/modular housing, even if the home is going into a community, due to a change in the definition of dwelling. Click here to go to the NMLS website for information on all licensing requirements and processes.
Department of Revenue
If you will be collecting and submitting PA Sales Tax on home purchases, you will have to complete the Sales Tax License Application and PTA Tax License Application and become registered with the Department of Revenue. Application is available here.
Department of Transportation
MV-326 Application for Multipurpose Dealer Registration Plate - optional
This is not required for manufactured housing retailers. This is an option that is available to all dealers and manufacturers. Click here for more information. Click here for the MV-326.
CRIMINAL HISTORY REQUEST
There are many reasons why you might need a Criminal History Report. Many state agencies require criminal history checks when applying for licensure and many communities use them for residents.You can complete the form and mail it along with $10 to the PA State Police. However, it can take 4 weeks or longer to receive the criminal records report.
Now you can send your request to PMHA! We can process your Criminal History Report on-line through the Pennsylvania State Police PATCH Program, most requests process within a matter of minutes! It’s only $13.00 per request.
Click here for the “Request for Criminal Record Check” form and mail or fax it to the PMHA Office at:
P.O. Box 248
315 Limekiln Road
New Cumberland, PA 17070
If you have questions regarding Criminal History Reports, please contact Toni by email or at 1-888-242-7642.
Application for Registration of Fictitious Name can be found here. For more information on Fictitious Names click here.
PennDOT requires Card Agent Status in order to obtain the required forms for titling of new and used manufactured homes (MV1 & MV4 forms). Click here for information on MV-375 - Card Agent Status.
The Electronic Lien and Title (ELT) Program only affects those businesses or individuals who place liens against Pennsylvania vehicle titles including manufactured housing. All lenders who wish to lien a Pennsylvania title must be electronically connected with PennDOT’s ELT Program. Click here for information on the ELT.
Manufactured homes are required to be titled in the Commonwealth. For more information on the titling process, please review information on PMHA's Titling page.
If you are not a member of PMHA and are interested in becoming a member please click here.